

MINUTES OF THE PROTOCOL COMMITTEE MEETING

HELD ON THURSDAY 2 NOVEMBER 2017

- 1 Minutes of the meeting held on 28th September and matters arising Order: Agreed
- 2 Lord Mayor's Receptions and Engagements of the Deputy Lord Mayor Order: Noted and Recommend to Council
- 3 Conferences:
 - a) Conferences Attended: Order: Agreed and Recommend to Council
 - b) Conference Reports Received: Order: Noted
- 4 Motion in the name of Councillor Patrick Costello: Order: Cllr. Costello was not in attendance and requested his motion be deferred to the next meeting
- 5 Motion in the Name of Councillor Ray McHugh:

The Manager informed Members that this functionality was part of the existing voting system. Work on the IT system in the Chamber was scheduled for December/January and investigations to enable it would be carried out at that time.

Order: Agreed

6 Motion in the Name of Councillor Damian O'Farrell:

Cllr. O'Farrell explained that the Part 8 had been presented to the Area Committee prior to going to publication consultation. Following that consultation there were significant changes to the application. He and other Councillors were very frustrated that the revised part 8 had not been brought back to the Area Committee before it was presented to the City Council meeting in September.

There was agreement among the Members that in general there should be greater consultation on Part 8 applications at Area level and in particular with development taking place within City Council Parks.

The Manager informed Members that the Chief Executive had received legal advice on the matter and that he would be circulating it to Councillors within the next couple of days. It was also important to distinguish between local practices and requirements of law when it came to Part 8 applications.

Order: It was agreed that the motion be deferred until such time as the Members have received legal opinion on the matter. The Manager will also bring reports back to this committee concerning the Part 8 consultation process and the involvement of Councillors in the commercial development of City Council Parks. 7 Motion in the Name of Councillor John Lyons:

"In solidarity with our twin city of Barcelona this Council condemns the Spanish government's repression and violence perpetrated on citizens exercising their democratic right to vote and as such, in an act of solidarity and in recognition of this universal right to democracy and self determination as established by international covenants, we agree to fly the Catalan flag over City Hall for one month."

Cllr Lyon's informed Members that he was proposing the motion on behalf of Cllr. Tina MacVeigh. The motion was seconded by the Árdmhéara Mícheál MacDonncha. The Members were supportive of the first element of the motion which condemned the violent actions of the Spanish government in reaction to the Catalan Independence Referendum. However, some Members were not in favour of flying the Catalan Flag as they believed it would politicise City Hall and would give the impression that the City Council was taking sides in the constitutional dispute.

Chairperson Cllr. Heney proposed that the motion be deferred as to such a time when the Protocol Committee had an agreed Flags Policy in place. This was put to a vote and was defeated.

Order: The motion as proposed was put to a vote and was agreed. Recommend to Council.

- 8 Correspondence from the South Central Area Committee regarding an Emergency Motion on the situation in Catalonia Order: This item was considered with Item 7 on agenda.
- 9 Health & Safety in City Hall

The Manager reported that there had been a number of breaches of Health & Safety good practice by the Members in City Hall over recent months. Unauthorised protests from the window of the Chamber and the roof of City Hall had the potential for serious injury and loss of life to both Councillors and members of the public. Measures have been put in place to prevent access to the roof and Members were requested to adhere to Health & Safety procedures. **Order: Noted.**

- 10 Managers Report
 - The Manager reported that the Members Room in the Civic Offices was now available. It is located in **Block 1, Floor 2,** opposite the Housing Welfare section. It is for Councillors use only - meetings with officials and constituents are not permitted.

Order: Details of the room's location and terms of use will be circulated to all Councillors.

• The Manager reported that a new Council Phone Directory was now available on the Modern Gov website and iPad App. This would replace the existing Annual Pocket Diary. The Manager explained that due to external constraints with the production and publication of the diary it was no longer feasible to continue with it.

The Members welcomed the new electronic directory but were unhappy that the Pocket Diary was to be discontinued. It is a resource that is provided to Councillors and they should have been consulted before a decision regarding its future was taken.

Order: The Members requested that the Manager revisit the decision to discontinue the Dublin City Council Pocket Diary.

11 **A.O.B**

- Cllr. Flynn, with the support of the other Members suggested to the Árdmhéara that Dublin City Council should honour Katie Taylor considering her recent achievements on the world's sporting stage.
 Order: The Árdmhéara informed Members that he would happily consider hosting a Civic Reception to honour Ms. Taylor.
- Cllr. Farrell requested that the policy preventing non-councillors from entering the Members Supper Room be reviewed. There have been occasions where City Council employees have requested guests of Councillors to vacate the room which has caused unnecessary embarrassment and upset.
 Order: Noted.
- 12 Proposed date for next meeting Thursday 30th November 2017 at 8am in the Richard O'Carroll Room, City Hall.

Order: Agreed

<u>Councillor Deirdre Heney</u> Chairperson Thursday 2 November 2017

Attendance:

Members:

Deirdre Heney (Chairperson) Aine Clancy Dermot Lacey Ray McHugh Ciaran O'Moore

Officers

Michael Gallagher

Apologies:

Patrick Costello

Members:

Mannix Flynn John Lyons Naoise O'Muiri Sonya Stapleton

Deirdre Ni Raghallaigh

Anne Feeney

Members:

Teresa Keegan Ardmhéara Micheal Mac Donncha Damian O'Farrell